Help.

I opened the door and let myself in. The chaos had already begun. I immediately felt slightly overwhelmed. People ran this way and that, talking to each other from across the room.

She ran up to me and hugged me. I lifted her small body off of the floor and squeezed her back. When her skinny arms released my neck, i put her down and she ran back to whatever she’d been doing before.

I looked again at the chaos. Everyone had a job and was determined to get it finished. I felt out of place. Why had I come early? What was I supposed to do? Was I of any use?

As I continued to try to ease myself in to the busyness, more people came to help. We were just getting ready for one girls graduation party. Why were there so many people? Had anyone helped at mine? Hadn’t my mother and I set up everything on our own?

People still poured in bringing desserts, chairs, crackers, cheese balls, plates, and on and on and on.

Oh. So this is how it works when you’re not afraid to ask for help. When you realize you can’t do it on your own. Or when you realize you can, but admit it would be better for people to come alongside of you.

Oh.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

