Signs.

I see the signs everywhere I go. Everywhere. About foster care.

Not even metaphorical signs. Like real life, hammered in to the ground, posted on a huge billboard, right beside every road I drive on, signs. Metaphorical signs have nothing on these.

It’s driving me crazy. I would LOVE to be a foster parent. I would LOVE to take children in. I would LOVE to foster, care for, and eventually adopt the little boy I met recently who broke my heart, who stole my heart, with his huge brown eyes and evident signs of abuse and neglect. I would LOVE to hold the little girl whose parents didn’t have enough to give her in my arms and never let go.

I would LOVE to claim them as my own. I would LOVE to do everything I could to improve their lives.

But I’m young. I’m unmarried. I’m not even finished with college! I’m about to go back for another year! Not fostering agency would even look at me! I’m not even fully caring for myself so how am I supposed to care for the other children that having no one caring for them?

My heart hurts.

What the crap is with all of the signs?

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

