Wishing.

I was at a wedding this past weekend because, well, I’m at the age where people get hitched young. I’ve got another wedding this weekend.

I walked in. The room was beautiful. Chairs, mostly full, all faced the metal arch at the front. Huge, old, beautiful windows filled two walls. The setting was simple. It was full of… expectancy. Just waiting.

I literally can’t seem to be on time for weddings. This is the second in the past year that I’ve walked into as they were seating the parents. How awkward. What’s wrong with me. But, in my defense, weddings are the only event I know of that truly start on time.

I found a couple of friends, one of which waved to me and gestured to the open seat. Bless her. Now I didn’t have to sit by strangers. As I sat down, she and her husband’s hands intertwined, remembering their wedding almost a year before. There was another girl our age on the other side of them.

And that’s when it started (and I’m not talking about the wedding).

The groom hadn’t entered the room. The bridesmaids and groomsmen hadn’t started their decent. The bride (our beautiful friend) hadn’t made her grand entrance. But this is when that girl began the “I’m forever alone” comments.

Starting then and through the remainder of the wedding and through the reception, I listened to that girl make comments about how she was going to start buying cats. How she couldn’t find a man. How she was never going to have a wedding. How she was going to become the crazy cat lady. How she was going to be single, always and forever.

Just to put it in perspective, she was joking and laughing about it most of the time. So it’s not like she was whining.

But the discontent shown through her comments was surprising.

Now, as you know, I would love to be married (see my former post: https://allthestuff7.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/my-guy/). But she was just so caught up in these thoughts of being forever alone that it was like she couldn’t even be happy for the friends pledging their lives together in front of us. She complained when the married friends we were sitting together were being too ‘cute.’ The girl is only 21 years old. It’s not like if she doesn’t get married in the next year her chances are ruined.

All that to say this: Be thankful for what you have. Be content with what you have. Be less focused on yourself and more focused on others.

Don’t be so caught up wishing for things that you miss what’s right in front of you.

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:11-12

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

