Vegan-ish.

I’ve been eating as a vegan for seven days now. It’s for a project for school and honestly? It hasn’t been extremely difficult.

I don’t eat a lot of meat to began with, so that part is pretty easy. It’s the cheese and the eggs I’m having a problem with. But really, thats just because 90 percent of normal recipes call for them. Oh, and the chocolate. Most of it has milk in it, so I haven’t been able to eat it and, if you knew how much I loved candy, you might understand my problem.

Alright, here’s the crazy thing… I’m actually thinking of making it more permanent. I watched one of those documentaries that you should never watch if you’re a meat eater and it really made me start thinking. They were being so mean to the little chicks and those poor cows stood in their own filth for their entire lives and it just doesn’t seem right.

Now don’t call PETA or anything, but I’m not actually an animal rights activist. Not even close. But that doesn’t mean I’m for animal cruelty. Plus, I don’t think most meat we eat is actually that good for you. The animals are fed as much as they can eat as fast as they can eat to make them as fat as possible as soon as possible so that they can be butchered and sold. And honestly, it was just gross to watch. Because they do this, they feed animals mostly corn which, by the way, they aren’t even designed to eat. They’re meant to eat grass!

I don’t know. I think animals were made for us to eat. I do- that’s just how it is. But, on the other hand, I don’t think they were made for us to use and abuse.

Guess I’m going to have to finally give in and get my hunting license.

-Melissa

2 thoughts on “Vegan-ish.

Leave a Reply

