Awake.

“Oh death, where is your sting?!”

Where is my sting? Really? That’s what you want to ask me? Have you ever known someone to die? Have you ever had someone you loved disappear, never to be seen again in this lifetime? And you’re asking where my sting is? Seriously? You know where it is! You know the pain I cause. You know the grief I have the power to put you through. And you can’t control it! I control you when it comes to this and we both know it.

“Oh hell, where is your victory?”

You know where my victory is. Why do you bother to ask? My victory is in every sin you committ. Oh, you know the guilt you’ll feel after you do it. But you won’t be able to stop. And even if you do figure out how to control this sin, I’ll bring something else. I won’t give up. I won’t do it. You will spend your whole life fighting me. And I might not have an eternal victory, but I have victories every day. I have victories over you.

Wow. Not A great place for my thoughts to go in the middle of a worship service. But that’s where they went. Which is, admittedly, rather defeating. But then the next part of the song:

“Oh church, come stand in the light! The glory of God had defeated the night! … Our God is not dead, He’s alive, He’s alive!”

And death has no sting when it comes to the Lord. Death, ironically, cannot keep us from life. And hell has no victory at all of Christ, and therefore, over us.

“Christ is risen from the dead, we are one with Him again. Come awake, come awake, come and rise up from the grave!”

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

