Opposites.

I know that I’m a sinner.

You don’t need to tell me, I’ve had that part figured out for a long time. There’s some part of my make up that delights in the wrong things. There is some part of me that doesn’t turn it’s back to evil but rather embraces it. I know that I am sick and desperately need a doctor. I know that I am broken and need to be fixed.

What do you make of me?

But what if I’m also a Pharisee? I seem righteous. I seem like I have everything together. I’m filled with pride and the word ‘hypocrite’ could easily been seen among a list of my character traits. I think I know so much more than I actually do. I think I know better than others when I usually don’t.

What do you make of me then?

And what if I’m both? What if I’m both humble and prideful? What if I’m both healthy and sick?

What do you make of me then?

And what if my view if you is completely romanticized? What if I see in you only the things that I want to see? What if I hear what I want to hear? What if I hear nothing at all? What if you aren’t who I’ve painted you to be? What if, despite all the warnings and better judgement, I’ve tried to put you in a box? What if I don’t know as much about you as I think?

What do you make of me then?

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

