Erase.

When you say ‘Sunday school teacher,’ I think of one woman. I’ve had many Sunday school teachers, but she stands out by far. She was caring. She was wise. She loved those around her.

I was young, so my memories of her are a bit foggy. I see her on very rare occasions now and her face always lights up. I always see her in passing now, which is rather unfortunate considering I spent years in her Sunday school class room.

She always told us two things that we had to remember. One of them was that our minds are like video cameras: they record everything we see and we can’t erase anything they record, so we have to be careful what we see and what we look at.

If I could do my life over, I would listen to that piece of advice. There are so many things I’ve looked at that I wish I could erase from my mind. And she was right. I can’t. And I’m such a visual person- I think in pictures. I can’t play those word association games. You know, those ones where someone says a word and you have to say the first word that comes to your mind. Those games actually take effort for me because if someone says the word ‘orange,’ I don’t think of another word. I literally just picture an orange. Anyway.

There was so much wisdom in that piece of advice. Clearly, I remembered it just fine. But I wish I would have done more than just remember it. I wish I would have listened to it; I wish I would have taken her advice.

So be careful what you watch and what you see. Sometimes you don’t have control, but sometimes you do. So be careful. Because when you see something, it gets recorded and stored up in your mind.

And you can’t erase it.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

