Wind.

A string, a rope, one building

Stretched

Then to another

A tightrope

The cool stone under my feet

My toes curled over the edge

A dare to walk

One foot now

The rope denting my skin

Each second, an hour

Slowly now… slowly

Aware of every muscle in my body

Trying to be light, able, and stable

For fire heats one of my sides

Water cools the other

Neither death would I

Prefer to face

So balance is essential

From the distance I hear…

Just beyond…

What is that…

A breeze

I stand

Halfway there

Between buildings

Between fire and water

Each begging me to lose it

Lose it all

And fall

And yet, stable I stand

And yet…

I hear the wind

-Melissa

One thought on “Wind.

Leave a Reply

