Riley.

Boy, you have me. You have my very heart held in your hands.

I wish I had you in mine.

My sweet, you will always be in my heart. You will always hold me captive. I love you more than I can express.

I wish life was as sweet as you. I wish things were different- were perfect. I wish you parents were good to you. I wish you had a strong support system and knew the depth to which you were loved. I wish I could have taken you from that situation. I wish I could have taken you from that house. That stupid, red house that I will hate until the day I die. I wish I could have kept you in my arms and never even had to think about letting you go. I felt so empty watching you walk away.

I hope you’re okay. I hope you are alive and well. I hope you were taken from those that hurt you. I hope someone you love is holding you right now. I hope you are safe. I hope you are sound. I hope you succeed in everything you do. I hope opportunity is given freely to you. I hope you grow up with good friends. I hope you laugh far, far more than you cry. I hope you are filled will joy so often you wonder how in the world you could be so lucky.

I hope you’re okay. I hope you are alive and well.

My sweet, little love, I should have stayed. I should have found a way to keep you close. I should have fought tooth and nail when they told me I had to let you go. I should have dropped everything I had for you. My dear, believe me, I will always regret that. My heart will never beat the same again with you inside of it. I’m so sorry, Riley. I’m so sorry, my sweet. Every cell in my body aches for you. I’m so so so so sorry, little love.

I love you, my sweet.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

