Deck.

I ended up sitting on the stairs, her on the other side of the phone, both of us smiling so big and in so much shock that we could barely speak. I had tears coming to my eyes because I was so overwhelmed with happiness for her.

When I hung up the phone, I couldn’t stop smiling. A girl I consider my sister just had one of the best days of her life.

I stopped smiling when I thought of you. When I realized I missed out on this moment with you because you decided I wasn’t worth it. When I remembered how it felt that I didn’t get to smile and celebrate with you. I stopped smiling and a sob suddenly caught in my throat.

I was asked if I could punch someone– no questions asked and no consequences and even Jesus would tell me it was a good hit– would I walk five miles to do it? Ten miles?

Yep. Yep, I’d punch you. If there were no consequences, I’d deck you. I’d walk ten miles just to do it and then walk ten miles back. And I hate that. But I’m so hurt. And you don’t seem to give a shit. And if you thought about it, I know you realize what this is doing to me. You know me too well not too.

If you knew you were going to cut me off, you should have done it slowly, so that our friendship faded. You should have made it seem like that was just how getting older was and this was just life. I mean, that still hurts, but it doesn’t kill. This kills. Because you kept me close for years and never told me anything was wrong and then dropped me from your life.

You were my best friend. And best friends are supposed to be involved in the happiest moments. And, if we ever become friends again, it will never be what it could have been. Because you cut me out of one of the best days of your life.

So yeah. I’d punch you if I could. Because clearly you need someone to knock some sense into you.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

