Heart.

Dear Heart:

I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean to let this happen to you again. I promise. I didn’t know. I promise. I didn’t know he would do this to you. I never even thought about it. I’m so sorry. I would have moved if I’d known. I wouldn’t have let myself stay so close. I would have slowly started to break away the attachments you made to him.

Dear Heart, I’m so sorry it happened so suddenly. I’m sorry I didn’t have time to prepare, to warn you. I’m so sorry he ripped himself from your walls with such force that you broke. Heart, I’m sorry. I know we don’t know how many more times you can break. I know you weren’t even back together again from the last time. I know there is never enough time to heal.

Dear Heart, I’m sorry this time will be worse. I’m sorry you will suffer longer. I’m glad you have no delusion of hope this time. Maybe that will be helpful.

Dear Heart, I’m sorry you don’t know what to do. I’m sorry you’ve had to turn your back. I’m sorry you don’t know how to move forward. I’m so sorry you don’t know if you can attach yourself again. I’m so sorry for the loneliness this fear will cause.

Dear Heart, we’ll get through this. We have to. I don’t know how we can, but we will. I don’t know how we’ll let ourselves love and be loved again, but we will. I think. I hope.

Dear Heart, I’m so sorry.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

