Anyway.

Some days, you wake up knowing it’s not going to be a good day.

But you get up anyway. You work out anyway. You do devotions anyway. You clean anyway. And even if your efforts are only half of what you usually give, you do it anyway.

I have to provide costumer service pretty regularly in my job. And that’s fine. I like people. But sometimes they’re not nice. Sometimes they’re mean and rude and unrelenting. And if you’ve ever had to provide costumer service, you know you have to hold your tongue. You have to not be mean back. You have to just sit there and take it.

When I’m having a bad day and someone is mean? It makes what could have been just a bad day and turns it into a horrible day.

I know it probably doesn’t actually have anything to do with me. This person is upset by the outcome I had to hand to them, but I was doing my job and I handled it as well as I could have. I was patient with them and let them speak their mind, even though the situation they were upset about was out of my control and even though they became rude. I did my job.

So let’s give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe they’re having a bad day too. Maybe they just went through a divorce or they recently lost someone they love or maybe they’re scared because they have things in their life that are out of their control.

Maybe someone at work was mean to them.

So I’m having a bad day. And someone made it worse. And it’s painful. And tears keep coming to my eyes and I have to pause, breathe, and blink them away.

I’m having a bad day. And I’ll keep doing my job anyway. And I’ll smile anyway. And I’ll be kind anyway.

-Melissa

 

Leave a Reply

