Warning.

10 months.

1o months and 3 days to be exact.

That’s how long it’s been since we’ve spoken.

Part of me has a feeling you’ll come back. Part of me has a feeling you’ll call me up and want my friendship back.

I’m going to be really honest: there’s a good chance I’ll make you work for it. Because you don’t deserve it. Because I didn’t deserve what you did to me – what you’re still doing to me. Because I did all I could to support you, and you still left me. Because you were family and you betrayed me.

I’ll be your friend again – I don’t really have a choice. You’re my brother and that means that, even if you never speak to me again, you’re family. So I’ll be your friend again.

But, be warned, trust is a fragile thing. Especially with me. And with each day that passes, my distrust in you grows.

And, be warned, the person I am now is not the person you left. Do not expect me to be the person I was. 10 months and 3 days is a long time, or at least enough time for a person to change.

Yes, be warned, if you come back and want to be friends again, we won’t be starting from where we left off. We won’t even be starting over. We’ll be starting in the negative. Because the pain you have caused me will resurface with full force when I see you again.

Because you are not the person I thought you were. The person I knew never would have done this to me.

But you have. You have hurt me daily for 10 months.

Every day for 10 months and 3 days.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

