Not.

I have caught someone in a lie.

They’re now floundering a bit. Basically, they lied about me in a meeting, so I addressed it in an email. Then they contradicted what they said in the meeting with what they said in their email response. I pointed out the contradiction and now they are saying they don’t understand why I am upset.

???

You lied about my work performance. Fortunately for you, I am a rather passive person. Which means, even though you’ve said a lot since I’ve worked with you that you have gotten away with, I haven’t thought most things were worth the fight. But you lied about my performance, and therefore questioned my work ethic, in front of my boss. Nope. No, I won’t stay quiet about that.

It’s one thing when you make rude comments under your breath. It’s one thing when you try to force friendship on me. It’s one thing when you throw a fit because you say you don’t understand what’s happening. It’s one thing when you blame your poor emotional reactions on the rest of us. It’s one thing when you try to demand your way.

But this, this, is another thing. This is the straw that broke the camels back. Honestly, it’s not even that big of a deal, because I’ve already talked to our boss and they now know that you lied. But this is something concrete, that I now have in writing, that you cannot refute.

I’m not even doing this to be mean. I’m not doing this to get back at you or to push you over the edge or anything of the sort. I’m doing this because what you did was wrong. And I am so, so tired of no one in this workplace holding you accountable for your actions. I will be the one to stand up for what’s right. I think they’re all afraid of you.

But I’m not.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

